2014 Rally America National Championship season opens with Sno*Drift

Sno*Drift is a performance rally that features prepared 2-wheel and 4-wheel-drive production cars on closed down timed sections of wintery roads It is the only planned snow event on the Rally America National Championship schedule.

Last year’s Sno*Drift winner and 2010 Rally America National Champion, Antoine L’Estage, is back to attempt a repeat victory in his trademark Mitsubishi Evolution X after he beat Subaru Rally Team USA’s David Higgins on the very last stage in 2013. David Higgins with co-driver Craig Drew went on to secure the 2013 Rally America title for the third consecutive year and are expected to return to Sno*Drift to extend their streak.


The competition will be crowded with a large contingent of Super Production (SP) cars led by 2013 SP Champions David Sterckx and Karen Jankowski. The SP battle is expected to be tight with the entrance of Lauchlin O’Sullivan and Dillon Van Way, whom both are familiar with top podium finishes.

Rally America fans are anticipating the return of Subaru Rally Team USA’s Travis Pastrana, the X Games action sports star who raced for the team from 2006-2009 and delivered four Rally America titles. Pastrana left stage rally to pursue a NASCAR career, but issued a December announcement that he wanted to return to the sport he loves. However, Pastrana will not attend Sno*Drift opting to make his season debut at the Rally in the 100 Acre Wood on February 21-22nd in Salem, Missouri.

Many teams consider the Sno*Drift Rally to be their favorite event due to the unique experience of running the icy, snow banked roads WITHOUT studded tires at high speeds. As a result, Sno*Drift’s conditions instantly levels the playing field allowing any driver a chance to win, and the race’s past overall winners reflects the event’s diversity and toughness.

Since 2005 the Sno*Drift Rally has traditionally been the opening round to the Rally America National Championship and will continue that role for the 2014 season. Sno*Drift received Honorable Mention in 2008, and in 2005, 2011, and 2012 was named “Rally of the Year”, being declared the benchmark by which other Rally America National Championship events are judged.


It’s the Super Special that draws considerable fan attention during the event.  The Super Special is a rally stage where spectators can watch all the rally action from start to finish from the comfort of one viewing location. Taking place on Saturday, January 25th at the Lewiston Sand & Gravel Pit located just off of Buttles Road – admission is just $5 per person.   Due to limited on-site parking, organizers are providing free bus rides from the Atlanta, MI School and the Lewiston Ace Hardware store beginning at noon.  Details of both opportunities are currently available on www.sno-drift.org.

The Sno*Drift Rally begins in downtown Lewiston, MI at 1:00 PM on Friday, January 24 at the Parc Expose where spectators will have a chance to view the rally cars on display, as well as get autographs from the many drivers and co-drivers prior to the start of the day’s action. In addition, fans will be able to pick up complimentary spectator guides that provide driving instructions to nearby viewing areas. It’s a perfect starting place for a day full of rally competition and an adventure in the beautiful Michigan woods.

Saturday starts once again in downtown Atlanta, MI at 8:00 AM, January 25, 2014 with another Parc Expose and opportunities to meet the drivers. After the day’s action awards and the victory celebration will take place at the Hillman Community Center at 6:30 PM.


Aaron Turpen
An automotive enthusiast for most of his adult life, Aaron has worked in and around the industry in many ways. He is an accredited member of the Rocky Mountain Automotive Press (RMAP), the Midwest Automotive Media Association (MAMA), the Texas Auto Writers Association (TAWA), and freelances as a writer and journalist around the Web and in print. You can find his portfolio at AaronOnAutos.com.