40th Anniversary of Supercross celebrated in California

This past Saturday marked the second stop at Anaheim’s Angel Stadium and 40,682 racing enthusiasts were in attendance to witness the Supercross Series’ 40th Anniversary celebration. Many riders, including the Honda Muscle Milk team pictured herein, were out with special graphics and decals to celebrate forty years of motorcycle racing mayhem.

2014 Honda Racing  - Anaheim 2

Many honorees in attendance or remembered at the event were past champions from the 1980s when the Supercross began, including 1989 winner Jeff Stanton, 1986 and 1988 champion Rick Johnson, 1984 champion Johnny O’Mara, 1983 champion David Bailey, and 1982 champion Donnie Hanson.

450 Supercross Class results from the Anaheim race, the third in this year’s series, were:

  1. Chad Reed
  2. James Stewart
  3. Ken Roczen
  4. Justin Brayton
  5. Ryan Villopoto
  6. Ryan Dungey
  7. Weston Peick
  8. Josh Hill
  9. Andrew Short
  10. Jake Weimer

250 Supercross West Class results (3rd round of the season):

  1. Cole Seely (Honda)
  2. Cooper Webb
  3. Malcolm Stewart (Honda)
  4. Jason Anderson
  5. Justin Hill
  6. Shane McElrath (Honda)
  7. Dean Wilson
  8.  Zach Osborne (Honda)
  9. Michael Leib
  10. Jessy Nelson (Honda)

Aaron Turpen
An automotive enthusiast for most of his adult life, Aaron has worked in and around the industry in many ways. He is an accredited member of the Rocky Mountain Automotive Press (RMAP), the Midwest Automotive Media Association (MAMA), the Texas Auto Writers Association (TAWA), and freelances as a writer and journalist around the Web and in print. You can find his portfolio at AaronOnAutos.com.