FIA Approves Manufacturers/Cars for Formula E 2015/16

Formula E Interview with Alejandro Agag

The Federation Internationale de l’Automobile has today approved the homologation of the eight manufacturers that will provide powertrains to the 10 teams competing in the second season of the all-electric FIA Formula E Championship.

From the 2015/2016 season, which begins in Beijing on October 17, the series will become an open championship allowing manufacturers to pursue their own in-house innovations, beginning with the development of bespoke powertrains.

In order to limit costs and promote investment and innovation in the most important areas, the manufacturers’ scope is initially limited to the powertrain – specifically the e-motor, the inverter, the gearbox and the cooling system. All other parts on the cars will remain as they are, with the aim being to prevent costly aerodynamic developments.

Of the 10 teams, eight will utilise their own powertrains whilst Dragon Racing will partner with Venturi to run the French manufacturer’s powertrain and the re-named Team Aguri will remain with season one’s SRT01-e package.

The 10 teams will make their public debuts at the first official pre-season test at Donington Park on Monday, August 10. Details on how to register for free tickets are available at

2015/ 2016 FIA Formula E Championship – Official Entry List:

ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport (DEU) ABT Schaeffler FE01
Andretti Formula E Team (USA) Andretti ATEC-01
Dragon Racing (USA) Venturi VM200-FE-01
DS Virgin Racing Formula E Team (GBR) VIRGIN DSV-01
Mahindra Racing Formula E Team (IND) Mahindra M2ELECTRO
NEXTEV TCR Formula E Team (CHN) NEXTEV TCR FormulaE 001
Renault e.Dams (FRA) RENAULT Z.E.15
Team Aguri (JPN) SRT01-e
Trulli Formula E Team (CHE) Motomatica JT-01
Venturi Formula E Team (MCO) Venturi VM200-FE-01


Press Release
Press Releases are issued by interested parties, usually the manufacturer or press agents acting on their behalf. We reproduce them here to keep readers abreast of the latest news of interest.